2017 X-Boat Season Coming Up...

X-Boat enthusiasts, we have a spectacular summer of 2017 on tap for you (X-Boat Calendar).  All of you will surely kick off your summer on your home-lake in sailing school preparing for an exciting run of regattas throughout the Inland Lake Yachting Association.  

First up is the LaBelle Tune-up for those hardy souls who can't wait to get out there, see their friends and mix it up on the race course.  The Tune-up is scheduled for May 20-21 this year.  Last year's regatta had some home cooking with OO-17 Sean Mihelich and Jackson Brockman taking the honors.

The X AJH regatta is next up -- a one day event for newer sailors to explore taking their boat to a regatta and making new friends. It is designed to create a fun event where kids can enjoy their first regatta experience. It will be held on June 16th this year at Cedar Lake Yacht Club in West Bend, Wisconsin.

Traditionally, the kick off the main body of the reagatta season in the ILYA is the TRAP - Training Regatta at Pine - hosted by our very own X-Class Committee Chair Ted Rolfs.  Last year 63 X-Boats attended with Meta and Fritz Simon sailing V-213 Simonized to the overall victory as well as that of the Junior Fleet.  Henry Rolander and Joey Plummer, who placed 3rd overall took the Senior Fleet honors sailing I-16 Menace.  TRAP will be held June 27-28 this year and is annually hosted by the Myers family at their lovely home right down the lakefront from the launch.  VERY BIG THANK YOU to the Myers for their annual support and hospitality!

The Quad Lakes Regatta (recently expanded to six lakes --Beulah, Cedar, Mendota, Nagawicka, Oshkosh and Pine) will be hosted by Nagawicka this year on July 6th and 7th.  Last year at Pine Lake, home-cooking ruled the day once again with X-51 The Butt - Alby Rolfs & Trainer Rolfs taking first place honors followed closely by B-6 Barr-B-Que Brigit Barr and Caroline LeRoy in second place.

Don't get too comfortable back on the your own lake too quickly, GLSS -- The annuual Geneva Lake Sailing School regatta is up next on July 10th and 11th.  Last year LGYC sailors I-123 PM Parker Michael and I-16 Menace continued the pattern of home lake dominance for the 2016 X-Boat season.

Before the WYA & ILYA Champs wrap up an incredibly quick summer take a quick breather and make the trip to OshKosh for the XTreme regatta.  Enjoy the easy launch at the state park, the tons of fun at the annual casino night at the beautiful Waters headquarters of the Oshkosh Yacht Club and get some big water practice in for the upcoming championships. Last year, V-213 Simonized Meta Simon & Fritz Simon built on their early season success from TRAP to take top honors out of 53! boats attending with I-1 Shimmer Harry Melges in close pursuit for second place.  The 13th annual XTreme will be held July 17th and 18th this year -- don't miss it!

The WYA was held at Lake Beulah Yacht Club last year and V-66 sailed by Christian Spencer and Jack Steiner started on a roll that would prove to be impossible to stop.  X-4 Winderful Ellie Harned and Monroe Melges provided a stiff challenge for them but in the end it wasn't enough as they took second place.  This coming season the X-Boat fleet will return to the lake that started the season for many when they sailed TRAP at Pine Lake.  The WYA will be held on July 22nd and 23rd there.

The culmination of the season will find the X-Boat Fleet at Delavan Lake Yacht Club for the Annual ILYA X-Boat Championships to be held July 27-28-29.  Last year found 56 Junior Fleeters and 36 Senior Fleeters travel to Lake Okoboji for a spectacular regatta.  Each fleet was able to sail 7 solid races and in the Senior Fleet V-66 Christian Spencer and Jack Steiner prevailed over the toughest competition from I-1 Shimmer Harry Melges and Finn Burdick.  In the Junior Fleet I-25 All In Chapman Petersen and Caroline Holland won going away with OO-24 Boomerang Quinn Harris and Matt Kandziora prevailing over a tight group for second place.

But wait...it's not over yet.  The Annual Blue Chip Regatta hosted by Cedar Lake Yacht Club is the traditional end to the X-Boat season when they recognize the top 30 sailors from each year's campaign to test their mettle one last time before heading back to school.  Last year I-25 All In Chapman Petersen and Caroline Hollnad wrapped up an incredible heater of ILYA Junior Champ - ILYA Opt Champ and X-Boat Bluechip Champ triumphs to take home the trophy.I-1 Shimmer - Harry Melges and Kit Harned were close but not a bad season for Harry IV either.  This year's Blue Chip will be held on August 11th and 12th.

And before you know it, we'll already be looking forward to next year...Tune in early and often to the X-Boat website for updates, reults and media.  Looking forward to a great 2017!!!